logo Click here for the Department of Medicine Home Page Click here for the UC Irvine Home Page Click here for the School of Medicine Home Page


Dr. Susan Huang, infectious disease specialist at UC Irvine Medical Center

September 24, 2020 

The Hope Foundation Awards were established in 2020 in four categories:                                             
  • Humanitarian Award
  • Mentorship Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Patient Advocacy Award

Dr. Charles D. Blanke, Chair of the SWOG Cancer Research Network, presented the inaugural Hope Foundation Awards during the Plenary session of the Fall 2020 SWOG meeting.

The first honor is the Humanitarian Award.

Nominees commit significant time and effort to helping others in need, including patients, colleagues, or those in the greater community.

This award will go to Dr. Frank Meyskens, a long-time SWOG leader and national cancer prevention expert.

Frank was nominated for advocating for the creation of one of our newest committees, the Palliative and End-of-Life Care Committee.

His nominator wrote, “Establishing this committee was a true humanitarian act.  The presence of this committee within SWOG will communicate to patients that supportive symptom management care will be a part of their care when they participate in a SWOG clinical trial.  It is a true act of humanity for people who are in need.”

Frank, congratulations.  This award is the perfect fit for you and the impact you have had on SWOG and on cancer research for forty years.